Is Nutrience Dog Food Any Good? A 2026 Hong Kong Buying Guide: How to Choose the Care+ Wellness Range, Grain-Free and SubZero Freeze-Dried Series

  • Post last modified:2026-09-28
  • Post category:Dog Food Database

Quick answer: Nutrience is a Canadian dog-food brand, and BC Pets currently has five ranges: Original (contains brown rice, more affordable), Grain Free, Infusion (freeze-dried coating), SubZero (grain-free with freeze-dried), and the Care+ wellness range targeting weight, oral, and skin and digestive needs. Choosing which one mainly comes down to five points: your dog’s age and size, whether it needs to avoid a certain protein, whether it has specific wellness needs, whether it needs grain-free, and your budget per kilogram. A generally healthy adult dog can start with Original or Grain Free; for fussy eaters, consider Infusion or SubZero; for weight or oral needs, look at Care+, but if there are symptoms, consult a vet first.

Nutrience Dog Food
  • Brand background: Nutrience belongs to Canada’s Rolf C. Hagen group, and the brand states all formulas are designed to be complete and balanced per AAFCO nutritional guidelines.
  • Range roles: Original focuses on value, Grain Free replaces grains with lentils and sweet potato, SubZero adds freeze-dried meat morsels, and Care+ targets specific wellness needs.
  • Grain-free doesn’t mean healthier: the US FDA has so far not established a causal link between grain-free food and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), but it still advises discussing with your vet before changing food.
  • Wide budget range: based on BC Pets page prices, Original in a large pack is about $40 per kg, while SubZero in a small pack is about $170 per kg or more.
  • Change food slowly: the brand recommends starting with 25% new food and gradually increasing the proportion over 5–7 days.
  • Storage in Hong Kong: spring and summer are humid, so after opening, seal it and keep it in a cool, dry place; if your dog eats little, choose a small pack.

When you keep a dog in Hong Kong, choosing dog food is often less about “which one is best” and more about “which one suits my dog and is affordable.” Owners in tenement buildings or small flats may not have room for a 10kg large pack; for a small-breed owner, one bag might last two or three months; and a fussy, weight-prone or often-itchy dog makes the choice more complex. On top of that, the Hong Kong Observatory notes that March and April here can be extremely humid and May to August hot and humid, so pack size and storage method both affect the condition of dog food after opening.

This article compiles Nutrience’s official information and the Nutrience dog-food products currently on the BC Pets website (as of 24 September 2026), explaining each range’s positioning, limitations and target audience one by one, to help you judge whether Nutrience dog food is any good and which range better suits your pet.

What kind of brand is Nutrience dog food? First, understand its origin and formula standards

Conclusion: Nutrience is a Canadian-made dog-food brand owned by the pet-supplies group Rolf C. Hagen, and the brand publicly discloses its main production locations and nutritional standards.

According to Nutrience’s official FAQ:

  • The Care range is produced in Ontario, Canada; the Infusion, SubZero, Grain Free and Original ranges are produced in British Columbia, Canada.
  • The brand states all formulas are designed to be complete and balanced and meet or exceed the nutritional guidelines of the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO).
  • The brand states it does not use artificial antioxidants such as BHT, BHA and ethoxyquin, and requires its fish suppliers to meet ethoxyquin-free requirements.

The above are the brand’s own statements. To assess any dog-food brand from a more objective angle, refer to the World Small Animal Veterinary Association (WSAVA) guide to selecting a pet food, which lists questions you can ask a brand, such as whether it employs a qualified nutritionist, where it is produced, and how it does quality control. The BC Pets category pages also state that the Nutrience it sells is genuine Hong Kong stock.

How do Nutrience’s five ranges differ? A clear look at their positioning

Conclusion: first choose a range by “budget + need,” then choose a flavour by your dog’s size and protein source.

Original range: contains grains, high value for money

BC Pets currently has two adult foods — chicken + brown rice, and lamb + brown rice — both in 11.5kg large packs. The brand positions it as a simple formula at an affordable price. Example: if you have two medium-to-large healthy adult dogs at home that eat a lot and have no need to avoid grains, Original large packs have a cost advantage per kilogram.

Nutrience Original Lamb + Brown Rice Adult Formula Dog Food 11.5kg/25lbs

Grain Free range: replaces grains with lentils and sweet potato

BC Pets currently has two all-breed foods — “multiple fish” and “turkey + chicken + herring” — in 2.5kg and 10kg. The multiple-fish formula suits dogs sensitive to poultry or other land-animal proteins. Example: if your vet has already advised temporarily avoiding chicken, the multiple-fish formula is one option you can take to discuss with your vet.

Nutrience Grain Free Turkey + Chicken + Herring All-Breed Dog Food

Infusion range: dry food with a freeze-dried chicken liver coating

BC Pets currently has a fresh chicken small-breed adult food in 2.27kg. The brand says the dry food’s outer coating is infused with freeze-dried chicken liver to boost palatability, and the formula contains low-glycemic whole grains. Example: if your small dog usually eats ordinary dry food but occasionally refuses it, and you don’t want to add too many treats, you could try Infusion.

SubZero range: dry food + freeze-dried meat morsels

This is the Nutrience range with the most options at BC Pets (8 in total); see the next section for details.

Care+ wellness range: targeting specific needs

BC Pets currently has three — weight management, allergy skin and digestion, and oral health — all grain-free dry foods, which the brand states all contain the DIGESTIBOOST digestive formula. See below for details.

Nutrience SubZero freeze-dried grain-free dog food: is it suitable for fussy dogs?

Conclusion: SubZero suits owners who want a bit more meaty flavour on dry food while still feeding in a convenient dry-food form, but its price is at the higher end of the Nutrience range.

Nutrience SUBZERO Single Protein Freeze-Dried Fresh Beef Liver

According to the official Nutrience SubZero page, this range combines high-protein dry food with freeze-dried NUTRIBOOST meat morsels, and contains no corn, wheat or soy. The options currently at BC Pets can be grouped by protein source:

  • Poultry + fish: freeze-dried fresh chicken + chicken + turkey + ocean fish (adult/small-breed adult)
  • Red meat + fish: freeze-dried fresh beef liver + red meat + ocean fish (adult/small-breed adult)
  • All fish: freeze-dried salmon, herring + seven-fish adult food
  • Duck + fish: freeze-dried fresh duck + duck + fish adult food
  • Single protein: lamb and pumpkin all-breed formula; duck and pear all-breed formula

Tips for choosing an option:

  1. Look at size first: for small dogs, start with options marked “small-breed adult”; the product page offers 1.8kg and 4.5kg, which are easier to finish within a short time after opening.
  2. Then look at protein: if your dog has reacted to a certain meat, avoid that meat first; single-protein formulas have more concentrated ingredients, making it easier to track your dog’s reactions. Example: for a dog suspected of chicken sensitivity, you can discuss with your vet whether to try the lamb and pumpkin formula.
  3. Note the handling of the freeze-dried meat morsels: the official page does not state whether the freeze-dried morsels undergo an additional sterilisation process. In its statement on the risks of raw-meat diets, WSAVA warns that raw-meat foods may carry pathogens; if there are young children, the elderly or people with weaker immunity at home, it’s advisable to wash your hands and clean the food bowl after feeding, and you can ask the brand about handling methods.

Nutrience Care+ wellness range dog food: how to choose among the three functional formulas?

Conclusion: Care+ is chosen by “need” rather than by “flavour”; it is a daily dry food and cannot replace a veterinary diagnosis or a prescription diet.

  • Weight-management formula: a low-fat formula, stated to have 38% less fat than typical grain-free formulas (the brand’s comparison data), containing L-carnitine and triple fibre. Example: if your vet has said your dog is overweight and needs calorie control, you can discuss with your vet using it as the daily food during a weight-loss period, adjusting the portion by the packaging guidance and your dog’s weight.
  • Allergy skin and digestion formula: contains hydrolysed salmon protein, plus coconut oil, salmon oil, pumpkin, prebiotics and probiotics. If your dog has persistent itching, hair loss or diarrhoea, a vet should first find the cause, rather than relying on a food change alone.
  • Oral-health all-breed formula: helps fight plaque and tartar and freshen breath. This kind of dry food is only a daily aid; brushing and regular dental check-ups remain important.

Official information shows the Care range also has a Calm and Comfort formula, but BC Pets pages do not currently have this option. To compare the three specs, view the Nutrience Care+ wellness range dog food.

Is Nutrience grain-free dog food definitely better? The limitations to know

Conclusion: grain-free is a choice, not a health guarantee; a healthy adult dog may not need grain-free.

Since 2018, the US FDA has been investigating a potential association between certain diets (including many grain-free, legume-heavy formulas) and canine dilated cardiomyopathy. According to the FDA’s latest public update (December 2022), no causal link has been established to date; the FDA states it will not issue further updates until there is meaningful new scientific data, and advises owners to discuss with their vet before changing food. In its official FAQ, Nutrience states that all its grain-free dry dog foods have added taurine.

Practical judgement examples:

  • The dog has always been fine on grain-containing food → it may not need to switch to Grain Free; Original or Infusion can already be considered.
  • The vet advises avoiding certain grains or proteins → you can compare Grain Free, SubZero single-protein, or the Care+ allergy skin and digestion formula.
  • The breed has a history of heart disease or already has heart problems → ask the vet before changing to any food.

If you’ve decided on grain-free, view the Nutrience Grain Free range dog food to compare the two flavours.

Nutrience dog food comparison table: specs, prices and target audiences

The prices below are those shown on BC Pets product pages on 24 September 2026, some of which are the member-offer prices or the “5% off when you buy 2 packs” offer marked on the page, which cannot be used together with other offers. Prices and stock may change at any time; please refer to the product page.

Range (BC Pets option count)Contains grains?Pack sizes listed on pagePrice shown on pageMain features (brand/product-page description)LimitationsBetter suited for
Original (2 options)Contains brown rice11.5kgChicken $460; lamb $490 (member-offer price)Simple formula, affordable priceOnly large packs; watch storage in small flatsBig-eating healthy adult dogs with no need to avoid grains
Grain Free (2 options)Grain-free2.5kg/10kgTurkey-chicken-herring $280/$740; multiple fish $300/$820Lentils and sweet potato replace grains; an all-fish formula availableGrain-free doesn’t mean healthierOwners needing to avoid poultry (the multiple-fish option) or who prefer grain-free
Infusion freeze-dried coating (1 option)Contains low-glycemic whole grains2.27kg$230; two packs for $437Dry food with a freeze-dried chicken liver coatingOnly a small-breed adult chicken optionFussy small-breed adult dogs
SubZero grain-free freeze-dried (8 options)Grain-free1.8kg; 4.5kg (small-breed options); 10kg (adult/all-breed options)1.8kg $310–$340;4.5kg $525–$535;10kg $880–$960Dry food plus freeze-dried meat morsels; single-protein options availableHigher price; the handling of the freeze-dried morsels is not stated on the pageFussy dogs, a more generous budget, or dogs needing a single protein
Care+ wellness (3 options)Grain-freeWeight management 2.27kg/10kg; skin and digestion 2.27kg; oral 1.5kgWeight $261/$749; skin and digestion $320; oral $210DIGESTIBOOST; designed by functionCannot replace a veterinary diagnosis or prescription dietDogs with daily weight, oral, or skin and digestive care needs

Cost per kilogram (calculated from the page prices above, rounded): Original chicken 11.5kg about $40/kg; Grain Free turkey-chicken-herring 10kg about $74/kg; Care+ weight management 10kg about $75/kg; SubZero chicken-poultry 10kg about $88/kg; SubZero 1.8kg small pack about $172–$189/kg. Large packs are cheaper, but factor in whether you can finish them within a reasonable time after opening.

BC Pets shopping tips

  • Multi-dog households that mind monthly spend: first consider the Original range large packs, or the Grain Free 10kg pack.
  • Small dogs, fussy eaters: compare the Infusion small-breed adult food (2.27kg) and the SubZero small-breed adult options (1.8kg/4.5kg).
  • Specific needs (after consulting a vet): for weight control look at Care+ weight management; if you need a single protein, look at the SubZero lamb and pumpkin, or duck and pear formulas.

The above are the retailer’s suggested directions for choosing, not an independent product-test ranking.

Before switching to Nutrience dog food: transitions, portions and storage

Conclusion: transition in stages, set portions by the packaging guidance and then adjust by body condition, and guard against moisture after opening.

  1. Transition gradually: Nutrience officially recommends starting with 25% new food and 75% old food, gradually adjusting the proportion over 5–7 days. Example: days 1–2 25%, days 3–4 50%, days 5–6 75%, day 7 fully switched. If persistent vomiting or diarrhoea occurs during this time, stop and consult a vet.
  2. Portions: the brand recommends splitting the daily amount into a morning and evening meal, referring to the packaging feeding guide and then adjusting to your dog’s actual condition. Treats should also be counted into the daily total calories.
  3. Storage: the brand recommends storing it indoors in a cool, dry, shaded spot, with the packaging resealable. Hong Kong’s spring and summer are humid, so seal it after each use and avoid placing it near windows or the kitchen stove.
  4. Choosing a pack size: small dogs eat little each day, so a small pack is easier to finish within a shorter time after opening; you can ask staff about the product’s expiry date before ordering.

Where’s the best place to buy Nutrience dog food? What to watch for when buying in Hong Kong

Conclusion: choose a retailer that clearly states the stock’s authorized-import source, lets you ask about expiry dates, and has transparent delivery terms.

  • Authorized-stock source: the BC Pets category pages state that the Nutrience it sells is genuine Hong Kong stock.
  • Expiry date: the BC Pets delivery page states that if you need a longer time to use it up, you can ask staff about the expiry date before ordering.
  • Purchase channels: BC Pets offers an online shopping cart, phone, WhatsApp and email ordering, plus a store/pickup point at Flora Plaza in Fanling.
  • Delivery: as of 24 September 2026, the delivery page states free delivery for orders over $350 on Hong Kong Island, Kowloon and the New Territories, with possible surcharges for remote areas; after dispatch, delivery is expected within 1–3 working days (excluding Sundays and public holidays). Please check the latest delivery terms again before publishing.

Nutrience dog food FAQ

Is Nutrience dog food any good?

Nutrience is a Canadian-made brand, and officially states its formulas are designed to be complete and balanced per AAFCO nutritional guidelines and discloses its main production locations. As for whether it’s “good,” it depends on your dog: a healthy adult dog can choose Original or Grain Free by budget; fussy eaters can try Infusion or SubZero; those with weight or oral needs can look at Care+. Observing appetite, stools, weight and coat condition after a food change is more reliable than looking at the brand alone.

What’s the difference between Nutrience SubZero and Grain Free?

Both are grain-free ranges. SubZero adds freeze-dried meat morsels (NUTRIBOOST) on top of dry food and also has single-protein options, with 8 currently at BC Pets; Grain Free is pure dry food that replaces grains with lentils and sweet potato, with 2 currently at BC Pets. Based on September 2026 page prices, SubZero costs more per kilogram, suiting households with a more generous budget or fussier dogs.

Can the Nutrience Care+ wellness range replace a prescription diet?

It cannot be used directly as a prescription diet. Care+ is an ordinary dry food designed for daily weight, oral, and skin and digestive care, whereas a prescription diet is a therapeutic diet prescribed by a vet based on a diagnosis. If your dog is already diagnosed with a condition, or has persistent itching, diarrhoea, or severe bad breath, consult a vet first before deciding whether Care+ is suitable as a daily food.

Do dogs need to eat grain-free dog food?

Not necessarily. Grain-free is a choice and does not mean healthier. The US FDA is still studying a potential association between certain diets and canine dilated cardiomyopathy, has not established a causal link to date, and advises discussing with your vet before changing food. If your dog has always been fine on grain-containing food, it may not need to switch to grain-free; Nutrience’s Original and Infusion ranges both contain grains.

Which Nutrience should small dogs choose?

The options BC Pets currently marks for small-breed adults include the Infusion fresh chicken small-breed adult food (2.27kg), and two SubZero small-breed adult foods — chicken-poultry-ocean fish, and beef liver-red meat-ocean fish (1.8kg/4.5kg). Small dogs eat little, so a small pack is easier to finish within a shorter time after opening, and is also better suited to Hong Kong’s humid weather and small-flat storage.

How long does switching to Nutrience dog food take?

Nutrience officially recommends starting with 25% new food and 75% old food, gradually increasing the proportion of new food over 5 to 7 days. Dogs with more sensitive stomachs can go even slower. During the transition, watch stool consistency, appetite and any vomiting; if persistent digestive upset occurs, stop the transition and consult a vet.

Where’s the best place to buy Nutrience dog food?

It’s advisable to choose a retailer that clearly states the authorized-stock source, lets you ask about expiry dates, and has transparent delivery terms. The BC Pets category pages state that the Nutrience it sells is genuine Hong Kong stock, and you can buy online, by phone, by WhatsApp, or at the Fanling store. As of September 2026, the delivery page states free delivery over $350, with possible surcharges for remote areas; the latest terms are subject to the website.

How should you store Nutrience dog food after opening?

The brand recommends storing the food indoors in a cool, dry, shaded spot, with the packaging resealable. Hong Kong’s spring and summer are more humid, so reseal it as soon as possible after each scoop, and avoid placing it near windows, the stove or the bathroom. If your dog eats little, a small pack is easier than a large one to finish within a reasonable time after opening.

Summary: three key points for choosing Nutrience dog food

  1. Choose the range by need first: for value choose Original, for grain-free preference choose Grain Free, for fussy eaters consider Infusion or Nutrience SubZero freeze-dried grain-free dog food, and for specific care needs look at the Nutrience Care+ wellness range dog food.
  2. Grain-free isn’t a must: Nutrience grain-free dog food suits households with a need or preference for it, but a healthy adult dog may not need it — if in doubt, ask a vet first.
  3. Work out the cost per kg and the use-up window: large packs are cheaper, but match them to your dog’s appetite and Hong Kong’s humid environment.

Whether you keep a small dog or several large dogs, judging Nutrience dog food by your dog’s age, size, health and budget is more practical than chasing a single “best” option.

To compare all the option specs and the latest prices, view the full BC Pets Nutrience dog food range, or directly compare the 8 flavours of the Nutrience SubZero freeze-dried grain-free range. You can order online, call +(852) 2683-0318, WhatsApp +(852) 5544-7400, or visit the Flora Plaza store in Fanling to enquire; for delivery and payment details, see Delivery Service and Purchase Methods.

Disclosure & disclaimer: BC Pets Pet Supplies Centre is a retailer of the Nutrience products in this article, so the article may contain commercial recommendations. Product information, prices and delivery terms are taken from the BC Pets website (data date: 24 September 2026), brand information from the Nutrience official website, and health information references publicly available US FDA and WSAVA material; prices, stock and terms may change, so refer to the website’s latest pages. The nutrition and health content in this article is for general educational purposes only and cannot replace professional advice. Please judge according to your dog’s age, breed, size, health and actual needs; for puppies, senior dogs, pregnant or ill dogs, or any health problems, consult a qualified vet. If you find any incorrect information or something that needs correcting, please email [email protected].